Home » IT Services News » IT Services News No. 180 (Apr 2016) » ITS Won Triple Gold Award in Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme 2016

ITS Won Triple Gold Award in Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme 2016

We are pleased to report that the Information Technology Services (ITS) homepage (www.its.hku.hk) and its eLearning Resources site (moodle-support.hku.hk) received 2 of the 16 awards won by HKU under the Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme 2016.  The ITS homepage won the Triple Gold Award for attaining the Gold Award standard in three consecutive years and the eLearning Resources site won the Gold Award, both of the Website Stream.

The Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme is co-organized by the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer (OGCIO) and the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) of the HKSAR Government. The objective of the scheme is to encourage local enterprises and organizations to adopt accessibility design in their websites and mobile apps, and also recognize their efforts and accomplishments in this area.

This year, HKU won a total of 16 awards of the scheme.  Please check out the University’s announcement at http://www.hku.hk/press/news_detail_14468.html.

HKU receives for the third consecutive year the highest number of awards among over 200 participating organizations

HKU receives for the third consecutive year the highest number of awards among over 200 participating organizations (courtesy of CPAO)

Promoting Web Accessibility in the University

Web Accessibility refers to the practice of making websites usable by people of all abilities and disabilities so that they can read, navigate, and contribute on the web. An inaccessible website could be a kind of disability discrimination and could be considered as an unlawful act under the Disability Discrimination Ordinance.

ITS promotes website accessibility through seminars to University members to raise their awareness on this important subject.  An overview of the concept of web accessibility, essential elements in designing accessible websites and techniques to achieve the common accessibility requirements are covered in these seminars and self-learning tutorials.

Judging Criteria of the Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme

There are 24 judging criteria of the Gold Award in the Scheme and some items were highlighted below-

Provide meaningful text alternative for non-text contents

All non-text contents, such as icons, photos, pictures, images, banners and maps that are presented to users have a text alternative that provides a meaningful description.

Provide accessible Flash/Animated contents or allow to skip

If Flash/Animated content is provided, accessible version Flash/Animated content or a skip function shall be provided.

Allow to perform all operations through a keyboard interface

All functions on a webpage are operable through a keyboard interface; the operation shall not enforce a time limit for individual keystrokes

Make website structure in a consistent navigation mechanism

Navigational mechanisms that are repeated on multiple webpages within a set of webpages occur in the corresponding relative order each time they are repeated, unless a change is initiated by the user.

Provide means to close popup windows

If there is a popup window, a close button shall be included to allow closing the popup window through keyboard interfaces.

Colour Contrast

Users can choose to read a “High Contrast” version by selecting the option on the top of the webpage. This provides better contrast between the text and its background, so that it can be more easily read by those with moderately-low vision.

Reference Materials

How to develop an accessible website?

5 testing techniques for web accessibility

Quiz on web accessibility

Colour blindness test

WAVE – web accessibility evaluation tool

Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)


Victor Chan
User Services Team
Tel: 3917 5303
Email: chvchan@hku.hk